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Basic Qualification for County Offices 
 
This summary and table below provide a general overview of candidate qualifications for 
County election offices and should be used for reference only.  Please review the Colorado 
Constitution and Colorado Revised Statutes for current applicable laws. 
Please note that no person is eligible to be a candidate for more than one office at a time, 
except for special district boards 

Office Minimum 
Age 

Residency 
Requirement 

Citizenship Length of 
Term 

Educational 
Requirements 

Other Requirements  

County Assessor 
Colorado Revised 
Statutes Title30, 
Article10, Part 8 

18 years 

Registered 
elector and 
resident of 
the county 
for at least 1 
year prior to 
the election. 

U.S. 
Citizen 

4 
Years 

N/A N/A 

County Clerk 
And Recorder 
Colorado Revised 
Statutes Title 30, 
Article 10, Part 4 

18 years 

Registered 
elector and 
resident of 
the county 
for at least 1 
year prior to 
the election 

U.S. 
Citizen 

4 
Years 

N/A N/A 

County 
Commissioner 
Colorado Revised 
Statutes Title 1, 

Article 4, Part 205 
Colorado Revised 
Statutes Title 30, 
Article 10, Part 3 

 

18 years 

Registered 
elector and 
resident of 
the district 
for at least 1 
year prior to 
the election 

U.S. 
Citizen 

4 
Years 

N/A N/A 

County Coroner 
Colorado Revised 
Statutes Title 30, 
Article 10, Part 6 

18 years 

Registered 
elector and 
resident of 
the county 
for at least 1 
year prior to 
the election 

U.S. 
Citizen 

4 
Years 

High School 
Diploma or 
its 
equivalent 
or a college 
degree 

Complete set of 
fingerprints taken by a 
qualified law 
enforcement agency 
and submit a receipt 
evidencing such 
fingerprinting at the 
time of filing his/her 
written acceptance or 
candidate affidavit. 
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Basic Qualification for County Offices-continued 
  

Office Minimum 
Age 

Residency 
Requirement 

Citizenship Length of 
Term 

Educational 
Requirements 

Other Requirements  

County Sheriff 
Colorado Revised 
Statutes Title30, 
Article10, Part 5 

18 years 

Registered 
elector and 
resident of 
the county 
for at least 1 
year prior to 
the election. 

U.S. 
Citizen 

4 
Years 

 High School 
Diploma or 
its 
equivalent 
or a college 
degree 

 Complete set of 
fingerprints taken by a 
qualified law 
enforcement agency 
and submit a receipt 
evidencing such 
fingerprinting at the 
time of filing his/her 
written acceptance or 
candidate affidavit. 
A person who has been 
convicted of or pleaded 
guilty or entered a plea 
of nolo contendere to 
any felony charge under 
Federal or State law is 
unqualified for the 
office of sheriff unless 
pardoned. 

County 
Treasurer 

Colorado Revised 
Statutes Title30, 
Article10, Part 7 

18 years 

Registered 
elector and 
resident of 
the county 
for at least 1 
year prior to 
the election 

U.S. 
Citizen 

4 
Years 

N/A N/A 

County Surveyor 
Colorado Revised 
Statutes Title 30, 
Article 10, Part 6 

18 years 

Registered 
elector and 
resident of 
the county 
for at least 1 
year prior to 
the election 

U.S. 
Citizen 

4 
Years 

Professional 
land 
surveyor. 

N/A 
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Becoming a Candidate 

There are three ways to get your name on the ballot, depending upon your party affiliation. 
These options include assembly nomination, petition, or write-in process. For detailed 
information, please see Colorado Revised Statutes Title 1, Article 4 on Access to the Ballot by 
Candidates at Colorado Revised Statutes | Colorado General Assembly. 

Certificate of Designation by Party Assembly 

Major and minor party candidates may seek nomination to office at their political party’s 
assembly, which is held no later than 25 days after the Precinct Caucus. Candidates who want 
to be a part of this process should contact their political party for assembly protocol, dates 
and rules. 

At the assembly, the Party delegates vote on the candidates. The candidate must be registered 
as affiliated with that party no later than the first business day of January of the election year, 
unless party rules state otherwise. 

 Major party candidates nominated by assembly are placed on the Primary Election 
ballot. 

 Minor party candidates nominated by assembly are placed on the general election ballot 
unless there is more than one candidate for that office nominated by assembly and/or 
petition; then the candidates are placed on the Primary election ballot. 

The Certificate of Designation by Assembly must be filed by the political party with the 
designated election official no later than four (4) days after the adjournment of the assembly. 
(1-4-604(3) C.R.S.) Certificates of Designation may be transmitted by fax; however, the original 
certificate must also be filed and postmarked no later than ten days after the adjournment of 
the assembly. 
 
 
 

 

 



5 
 

Certificate of Designation by Petition 

The petition process involves circulating a written petition to other registered electors who 
share your party affiliation and obtaining their signature in support of your candidacy. 

 Unaffiliated candidates must get on the ballot through the petition process. Unaffiliated 
candidates nominated by petition are placed directly on the General election ballot; 
there is no primary election for unaffiliated candidates. An unaffiliated candidate must 
be registered as unaffiliated no later than the first business day of the election year to 
petition onto the ballot. 

 Affiliated candidates (major or minor party) may use the petition option when they do 
not believe they have their party’s support to get on the Primary or General election 
ballot through their party’s assembly process, or do not wish to go through the assembly 
process. However, a candidate may not petition onto the ballot if they have attempted 
and failed to receive at least 10 percent of the votes for nomination for the same office 
at their party’s assembly. A candidate must be affiliated with the political party no later 
than the first business day of the election year to petition onto the ballot. 

The County Clerk must approve all petition formats prior to circulation. Each petition may 
contain only one candidate’s name. The Clerk’s Office also must verify signatures and notify the 
candidate of sufficiency or insufficiency. Please see Title 1, Article 4, Part 8 of Colorado Revised 
Statutes on nomination of Candidates by Petition for requirements.   

Certificate of Designation by Write-In 

A write-in candidate is a candidate whose name does not appear on the ballot, but for whom 
voters may vote nonetheless by writing in the person’s name. 

Any person who wishes to be a write-in candidate must file an affidavit of intent with the 
County Clerk and Recorder by the 67th day before a Primary election or by the 110th day before 
any other election. 
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Candidate Petition Signers and Signatures for County Offices: 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

  Major Party Minor Party Unaffiliated 
Requirements 
For Petition 
Circulators: 

 Resident of the State 
 Citizen of the US 
 At least 18 years old 
 Registered to vote 
 Affiliated with the political 

party mentioned in the 
petition at the time the 
petition is circulated. 

 Resident of the State 
 Citizen of the US 
 At least 18 years old 
 Registered to vote 
 Affiliated with the 

political party 
mentioned in the 
petition at the time 
the petition is 
circulated. 

 Resident of the 
State 

 U.S. citizen 
 At least 18 years 

old 
 

 Major Party Minor Party Unaffiliated 
Petition 
Signers and 
Signatures: 

 Only eligible electors from 
political subdivision may 
sign the petition 

 Signers must be affiliated 
with the political party 
named in the petition for at 
least 29 days prior to 
signing. 

 The petition signatures 
must equal at least 10% of 
the votes cast in the 
previous primary election 
for that office. (If there was 
no primary, 10% of the 
votes cast at most recent 
General Election where 
there was a candidate for 
that office.) 

 Only eligible electors 
from political 
subdivision may sign 
the petition 

 There are no party 
requirements 

 The candidate needs 
the lesser of 750 or 
2% of the votes cast 
for all candidates for 
that office in the 
most recent General 
Election (whichever is 
less). 

 Only eligible 
electors in that 
district or political 
subdivision 

 Signers may be 
affiliated with a 
party or 
unaffiliated 

 Unaffiliated 
petitions may be 
amended once, no 
later than 3 p.m., 
85 days before the 
General Election. 
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Frequently Asked Questions 

 
Where do I file my candidate paperwork for County office? 
The following forms need to be filed at the Crowley County Clerk’s Office. 

 Certificate of Designation by Assembly (provided by the political party at the assembly. 
 Candidate Acceptance of Nomination by Designation (provided by the political party at 

the assembly) 
 Major Party, Minor Party or Unaffiliated Designation Petition ?Forms (provided by the 

county) 
 Candidate Acceptance of Nomination by Petition (provided by the county) 
 Affidavit of Intent for Write-in (provided by the county) 

 
The following forms will need to be filed electronically with the Secretary of State or at 
www.sos.state.co.us 

 Candidate Affidavit 
 Campaign Finance Forms 
 Committee Registration 

 
Important! Candidate Affidavit and Campaign Finance Forms will need to be filed with the 
Secretary of State.  http://tracer.sos.colorado.gov/PublicSite/homepage.aspx  
 
Is there a timeline regarding when I file my Campaign finance paperwork? 
Yes, refer to the Secretary of State website: 
www.sos.state.co.us/pubs/elections/CampaignFinance/filingCalendar.html 
 
How can I get a list of voters in the district for which I am a candidate? 
Upon completion of a request form and payment you can contact the Crowley County Clerk’s 
Office at (719) 267-5225. 
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