COLORADO FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:

Department of Public __ pickup —call
Health & Environment ___mail email

Colorado Death Certificate Request

Vital Records Section HSVR-VR-A1

4300 Cherry Creek Drive South Phone Orders: 1-866-300-8540
Denver, CO 80246-1530 Online Orders: www.vitalchek.com
Apply in person for same-day services www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords Phone/Online Follow-Up:
Walk-in Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 - 4:30 Email: vital.records@state.co.us 1-866-632-2604
Correction Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 - 3:30 Phone: (303) 692-2200 Fax Orders: 1-800-423-1108

This office has death certificates for the entire state since 1900. Death certificates are also available in the county Vital Records office where the death occurred. Death certifi-
cates are considered public record after 75 years.

Requirements:

This request must be completed in full.

Enclose a copy of a current driver’s license, passport or State identification. (The complete list of primary
and secondary ID’s are available online at www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords)

Enclose appropriate fees.

Person requesting to receive death certificate must sign below.

Proof of relationship or legal interested is required (see reverse side).

OO0 00N

Requestor Information

Print name of person First Middle Last Email:
making request
Mailing Address City State Zip Daytime Phone
( )
Physical Address City State Zip Alt Phone Number
( ) .

Relationship to deceased d Parent [ Spouse [ Grandparent [d Sibling [ Child [ Funeral Director

(must submit proof of relationship) D Legal Representative I:I Other:
*see reverse side

Reason for Request: [ Insurance [ Social Security [ Property [ Genealogy [ Other:

Deceased Information [ Check here if you are requesting a certificate of stillbirth

Full Name of deceased "'s! Middls Lo
Date of death* Month| Day |Year Date of birth or age at death (optional) State of birth (optional)
(or range of dates) -
City County State
Place of death Colorado ONLY
Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by Colorado Board of Health Rules and Regulations, applicant must have a direct and

tangible interest in the record requested. The penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or impris-
onment in the county jail for not more than one year or both such fine and imprisonment (CRS 25-2-118).

By signing below, | have read and understand that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses. lToday’s date

l

WaystoOrder: ~ __ _ _ _ Charges: (FEES NON-REFUNDABLE)
["« *Order certificates online at www.vitalchek.com Certificate(s) mailed 3-5days |  *Search fee where date of death is unknown
after receipt of all required documentation. ($1.00 per year).. sy 8

+ **Fax your application with credit card information: within continental U.S. fax
1-800-423-1108; outside continental U.S. fax 1-303-691-9307. Certificate(s) mailed | Cost of deathcertfcae -$20.00 for on (or search when no record found)
at the end of five business days upon receipt of all required documentation.
= Mail in application with check, money order, or credit card information. Make check :
| or money order payable to Vital Records. Please do not send cash. Certificate(s) | death-certificate-types.pdf.
mailed within three weeks upon receipt of all required documentation. Q Standard death certificate (entire record)......cccueeeeceeeecernniecananenae.... 520,00 = §

First copy - check one:
The various death certificates can be viewed online at https://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/

= Apply in person for same-day service. Office hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 1J Legal death certificate (all legal and no medical information) .........cceeeueee. $20.00=§
| p.m., Monday-Friday. _  __  __  _ (1 Verification of death (limited legal information and no medical information) .......... $20.00 = §
. . Cost of additional certificates - $13.00 each:
**Credit card orders: ($10.00 convenience charge to be added) Please check and indicate quantity of each certificate requested:

The various death certificates can be viewed online at https://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/

Card Type: [dvisA [ MasterCard [ Discover [ American Express
death-certificate-types.pdf.

Cardholder name: Standard death certificate (entire record) .........oooeeveeeevveessnerneeeen_____ X513.00=5__
Legal death certificate (all legal and no medn:al 1nfon'nat1on} ............. x513.00=§,
Cardholder Signature: Verification of death (limited legal information and no medical information)..._____ x$13.00=§
- i $10.00 credit card convenience charge (walk-ins excluded) ............ccceecrueeevecrverennnns S
CardNumber: |_| | [ [ [ [ [ [ | [ | | | | || Please check your shipping method:
Expiration Date: / (3 Regular mail ($0.00) 1 FedEx (check, money order, cash orders ONLY) ($20.00)

0 Express mail (519.95) 1 UPS (credit card orders ONLY) (519.00)

FORM-VR51 TOTAL CHARGES .. veresverreeerrressesreserreeseresers oo §




Death certificates may issued to:

Current spouse

Document(s) needed to prove relationship:
Must be listed on death certificate.

Ex-spouse Must present proof of direct & tangible interest (i.e. Social Security record,
insurance policy).

Parent Must be listed on death certificate.

Stepparent Marriage certificate proving relationship to a parent that is listed on death certifi-

cate.

Grandparents/Great grandparents

Birth certificate(s) proving relationship required (cannot accept baptismals,
hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from the

state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Siblings/Half siblings

Birth certificate showing at least one same parent required (cannot accept bap-
tismals, hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter
from the state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Children/Grandchildren/Great grandchildren

Birth certificate(s) showing relationship is required (cannot accept baptismals,
hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from the

state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Step-Children

Marriage certificate & birth certificate proving relationship required.

Legal representative/Paralegals

Proof of client relationship required as well as proof of the client’s relationship

to the registrant.

Opposing counsel

Certificate will be mailed to court w/ motion to seal “confidential record.”

Name, address and case number of the court required.

Genealogists

Notarized signed release from immediate family member required as well as
proof of the family member’s relationship. Certificate marked “For Genealogi-

cal Use Only.”

In-laws/aunts/uncles/nephews/nieces/ cousins

For death certificate 25 years or younger- Must present proof of direct & tan-
gible interest (i.e. insurance policy, personal will, etc.).

For death certificates over 25 years- Must present proof of relationship (a family
tree would be acceptable for this case) Death certificate marked “For Genea-
logical Use Only.”

Probate Researchers

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

Creditors

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

Employer

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

Beneficiaries

Proof of direct & tangible interest required (i.e. letter on insurance company/
pension company letterhead that clearly states the applicant is a beneficiary or is
eligible to file a claim).

Insurance companies

Proof of direct & tangible interest required (Insurance policy).

Hospital/Nursing home/Hospice/Physician

Proof of patient relationship required.

Funeral Directors

Must be listed on death certificate.

Informant

Must be listed on death certificate.

Others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible

interest when information is needed for determination

or protection of a personal or property right

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

NOTE: Death certificates in Colorado become public record after 75 years, therefore, no proof of relationship or legal interest is re-

quired for these certificates.



